Thursday, 2 March 2017

Diversity Spotlight Thursday #4

Diversity Spotlight Thursday

Diversity Spotlight Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Aimal of Bookshelves and Paperbacks. Every week, we are to come up with one book in each of three different categories: a diverse book we have read and enjoyed, a diverse book on your TBR, and one that has not yet been released.

A Diverse Book I Enjoyed:


Run to Kody KeplingerRun to Kody Keplinger

Bo Dickinson is a girl with a wild reputation, a deadbeat dad, and an alcoholic mom. Everyone in town knows the Dickinsons are a bad lot, but Bo doesn't care what anyone thinks.

Agnes Atwood has never stayed out past ten p.m., never gone on a date and never broken any of her parents' overbearing rules. Rules that are meant to protect their legally-blind daughter, but Agnes isn't quite sure what they are protecting her from.

Despite everything, Bo and Agnes become best friends. And it's the sort of friendship that runs more deeply than anything else. But when Bo shows up in the middle of the night, police sirens wailing in the distance, Agnes is faced with the biggest choice she's ever had to make. Run, or stay?
From Goodreads.

I loved this book a hell of a lot more than I thought it would. I bought it after all the VOYA controversy, and it was brilliant! And #OwnVoices legally blind character, and a bisexual character. Such a great book. Check out my review.

A Diverse Book on my TBR:


Our Own Private Universe by Robin TalleyOur Own Private Universe by Robin Talley

Fifteen-year-old Aki Simon has a theory.

And it’s mostly about sex.

No, it isn’t that kind of theory. Aki already knows she’s bisexual–-even if, until now, it’s mostly been in the hypothetical sense.

Aki’s theory is that she’s only got one shot at living an interesting life–-and that means she’s got to stop sitting around and thinking so much. It’s time for her to actually do something. Or at least try.

So when Aki and her friend Lori set off on a trip to a small Mexican town for the summer, and Aki meets Christa–-slightly-older, far-more-experienced–-it seems her theory is prime for the testing.

But something tells her its not going to be that easy...
From Goodreads.

I've had some ups and downs with Robin Talley's books, but I'm really looking forward to this one! It's very rare that I read an LGBTQ* YA novel the covers sex - off of the top of my head, I can only think of The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth, Sprout by Dale Peck, and... I think that might be it? (I'm sure I've read some others, but I can't think of them right now.) But they are few and far between, so I'm interested to read this!

A Diverse Book That Is Yet To Be Released:


I Have No Secrets by Penny JoelsonI Have No Secrets by Penny Joelson

Jemma knows who did the murder. She knows because he told her. And she can't tell anyone.

Fourteen-year-old Jemma has severe cerebral palsy. Unable to communicate or move, she relies on her family and carer for everything. She has a sharp brain and inquisitive nature, and knows all sorts of things about everyone. But when she is confronted with this terrible secret, she is utterly powerless to do anything. Though that might be about to change...

A page-turning thriller seen through the eyes of a unique narrator, this is a truly original, heart-rending and compulsive book for young adult readers. Perfect for fans of Wonder, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time and Looking for JJ.
From Goodreads.

Just reading the summary for this makes my heart sink. It's such a terrible situation to put someone in! I'm really intrigued to see how Jemma copes with knowing something so awful, but being unable to tell anyone. Really hoping it's a great story!

That's this week's picks! Have you read any of these yet? What diverse books are you looking forward to reading? If you've written one, link me to your own Diversity Spotlight Thursday posts!

4 comments:

  1. They all sound very interesting, especially the second and third one!
    Hope you will enjoy them as much as you hope to.

    Greets, Ella
    http://passionandpages.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
  2. I am currently reading Our Own Private Universe and it has been good but it just isn't catching my attention at the same time!

    xx Anisha @ Sprinkled Pages

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I've read Our Own Private Universe, and I know exactly what you mean. It wasn't really my bag, but such an important book!

      Delete