Thursday, 20 July 2017

Review: When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya MenonNetGalleyWhen Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon (eProof) - The arranged-marriage YA romcom you didn't know you wanted or needed...

Meet Dimple.

Her main aim in life is to escape her traditional parents, get to university and begin her plan for tech world domination.

Meet Rishi.

He's rich, good-looking and a hopeless romantic. His parents think Dimple is the perfect match for him, but she's got other plans...

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

Perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jenny Han and Nicola Yoon, WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI is a frothy, funny contemporary romance set at a coding convention in San Francisco over one exciting summer. Told from the dual perspectives of two Indian American protagonists, Dimple is fighting her family traditions while Rishi couldn't be happier to follow in the footsteps of his parents. Could sparks fly between this odd couple, or is this matchmaking attempt doomed to fail?
From Goodreads.

Sunday, 16 July 2017

Review: The Disappearances by Emily Bain Murphy

The Disappearances by Emily Bain Murphy US cover The Disappearances by Emily Bain Murphy UK cover

NetGalleyThe Disappearances by Emily Bain Murphy (eProof/review copy)* - Every seven years something goes missing in the remote town of Sterling: people's reflections, the stars in the sky, the ability to dream. Aila realises that her mother may be to blame for the curse. But some mysteries are buried very deep and some secrets want to stay hidden - and one young woman's desire to uncover the truth may not be enough to save Sterling from the past.

A beautifully told story of love, loss and finding the truth - no matter how difficult that might be.
From Goodreads.

Trigger warning: This book features a suicide attempt.

Friday, 14 July 2017

Review: Our Dark Duet by V. E. Scwhab

Our Dark Duet by V. E. ScwhabOur Dark Duet by V. E. Scwhab (Bought) - WARNING! I cannot review this book without spoiling the others in the series. Read no further if you're planning on reading this series and don't want it spoilt for you.

Kate Harker is a girl who isn’t afraid of the dark. She’s a girl who hunts monsters. And she’s good at it. August Flynn is a monster who can never be human, no matter how much he once yearned for it. He’s a monster with a part to play. And he will play it, no matter the cost.

Nearly six months after Kate and August were first thrown together, the war between the monsters and the humans is terrifying reality. In Verity, August has become the leader he never wished to be, and in Prosperity, Kate has become the ruthless hunter she knew she could be. When a new monster emerges from the shadows—one who feeds on chaos and brings out its victim’s inner demons—it lures Kate home, where she finds more than she bargained for. She’ll face a monster she thought she killed, a boy she thought she knew, and a demon all her own.
From Goodreads.

Tuesday, 11 July 2017

The Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag

The Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag

Today, I'm taking part in The Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag - which Cait of Paper Fury has kindly allowed her readers to steal from her. So, onwards, yes?

THE BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR SO FAR


Assassin's Fate by Robin Hobb

This is going to have to be Assassin's Fate by Robin Hobb. It's the final book in the Fitz and the Fool trilogy, but it's also the finale to a story that spanned 16 books - four trilogies and a quartet. This story has been with me since I was a teenager, and not only did it answer all left over questions, but it ended in  a wonderful, satisfying ending. And though I know I'll always re-read these books, I'm going to miss these characters and this world, and going off on new adventures with Fitz and the Fool. This book will definitely stay with me for a very long time.

Saturday, 8 July 2017

Review: This Savage Song by V. E. Schwab

This Savage Song by V. E. SchwabThis Savage Song by V. E. Schwab (Bought) - Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs of a divided city, a grisly metropolis where violence has begun to create real and deadly monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the inhabitants pay for his protection. August just wants to be human, as good-hearted as his own father - but his curse is to be what the humans fear. The thin truce that keeps the Harker and Flynn families at peace is crumbling, and an assassination attempt forces Kate and August into a tenuous alliance. But how long will they survive in a city where no one is safe and monsters are real... From the blurb.

Wednesday, 5 July 2017

Review: The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood

The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret AtwoodThe Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood (Bought) - Offred is a Handmaid in the Republic of Gilead. She has only one function: to breed. If she deviates, she will, like dissenters, be hanged at the wall or sent out to die slowly of radiation sickness. But even a repressive state cannot obliterate desire - neither Offred's nor that of the two men on which her future hangs.

Brilliantly conceived and executed, this powerful evocation of twenty-first century America explores a world in which oppression of women, and repression of the truth, have become justified.
From Goodreads.

Sunday, 2 July 2017

Discussion: The Issues People Have With #OwnVoices

Discussion: The Issues People Have With #OwnVoices

I think we can all agree how important #OwnVoices - novels about marginalised character/s by authors who share their marginalisation/s - novels are. But #OwnVoices has been getting a bit of a bad rap lately, and I thought I would discuss the problems some people have.

There are a few issues people have with it. Or, really, not #OwnVoices itself, but the ideas people have about #OwnVoices. One idea is that we should prioritise #OwnVoices novels. The second is that if you are a marginalised author, you should write about your marginalisation/s.