Monday, 27 January 2020

, , , , , , ,

Review: Maresi Red Mantle by Maria Turtschaninoff

Maresi Red Mantle by Maria Turtschaninoff

This post contains Ad: Affiliate Links - marked with an asterisk (*) - which means if you make a purchase through them, I'll receive a small commission at no extra cost to you.

Maresi Red Mantle by Maria Turtschaninoff

Published: 6th June 2019 | Publisher: Pushkin Children's Books | Cover Designer: Helen Crawford-White | Source: Publisher
Maria Turtschaninoff's Website

Maresi returns in the thrilling conclusion to the feminist fantasy epic The Red Abbey Chronicles.

For Maresi, like so many other girls, the Red Abbey was a haven of safety in a world ruled by brutal men. But now she is a young woman and it is time for her to leave. She must take all that she has learned from her sisters and return to her childhood home to share the knowledge she has gained.

But when Maresi returns to her village, she realises all is not well - the people are struggling under the rule of the oppressive Earl, and people are too busy trying to survive to see the value of her teachings. Maresi finds she must use all the terrible force of the Crone's magic to protect her people, but can she find the strength to do so when her heart is weakening with love for the first time?
From Goodreads.

Ad: Affiliate links:
Book Depository* | Wordery*
Goodreads

My other reviews of The Red Abbey Chronicles:
Maresi (Book 1) | Naondel (Book 2/Prequel)

WARNING! I cannot review this book without spoiling the others in the series. Read no further if you're planning on reading this series and don't want it spoilt for you.

I was sent this review copy for free by Pushkin Children's Books for the purposes of providing an honest review.

Continue reading Review: Maresi Red Mantle by Maria Turtschaninoff

Monday, 20 January 2020

, , , , , ,

Review: Two Can Keep a Secret by Karen M. McManus

Two Can Keep a Secret by Karen M. McManus

This post contains Ad: Affiliate Links - marked with an asterisk (*) - which means if you make a purchase through them, I'll receive a small commission at no extra cost to you.

Two Can Keep a Secret by Karen M. McManus

Published: 10th January 2019 | Publisher: Penguin | Cover Designer: | Source: Publisher
Karen M. McManus' Website

Ellery's never been to Echo Ridge, but she's heard all about it. It's where her aunt went missing at age sixteen, never to return. Where a Homecoming Queen's murder five years ago made national news. And where Ellery now has to live with a grandmother she barely knows, after her failed-actress mother lands in rehab. No one knows what happened to either girl, and Ellery's family is still haunted by their loss.

Malcolm grew up in the shadow of the Homecoming Queen's death. His older brother was the prime suspect and left Echo Ridge in disgrace. His mother's remarriage vaulted her and Malcolm into Echo Ridge's upper crust, but their new status grows shaky when mysterious threats around town hint that a killer plans to strike again. No one has forgotten Malcolm's brother-and nobody trusts him when he suddenly returns to town.

Ellery and Malcolm both know it's hard to let go when you don't have closure. Then another girl disappears, and Ellery and Malcolm were the last people to see her alive. As they race to unravel what happened, they realize every secret has layers in Echo Ridge. The truth might be closer to home than either of them want to believe.

And somebody would kill to keep it hidden.
From Goodreads.

Ad: Affiliate links:
Book Depository* | Wordery*
Goodreads

I received this proof for free as a bookseller's reading copy from Penguin for the purposes of recommending/handselling. I review all books I read honestly on my blog.

Rep: This book features a biracial (half white, half Latina) protagonist, a gay (though no label), biracial (half white, half Latino) secondary character, and a queer, Korean American secondary character.

Continue reading Review: Two Can Keep a Secret by Karen M. McManus

Monday, 13 January 2020

, , , , ,

Review: Magic for Liars by Sarah Gailey

Magic for Liars by Sarah Gailey

This post contains Ad: Affiliate Links - marked with an asterisk (*) - which means if you make a purchase through them, I'll receive a small commission at no extra cost to you.

Magic for Liars by Sarah Gailey

Published: 4th June 2019 | Publisher: Tor | Cover Designer: Will Staehle | Source: Publisher
Sarah Gailey's Website

Sharp, mainstream fantasy meets compelling thrills of investigative noir in this fantasy debut by rising star Sarah Gailey.

Ivy Gamble has never wanted to be magic. She is perfectly happy with her life—she has an almost-sustainable career as a private investigator, and an empty apartment, and a slight drinking problem. It's a great life and she doesn't wish she was like her estranged sister, the magically gifted professor Tabitha.

But when Ivy is hired to investigate the gruesome murder of a faculty member at Tabitha’s private academy, the stalwart detective starts to lose herself in the case, the life she could have had, and the answer to the mystery that seems just out of her reach.
From Goodreads.

Ad: Affiliate links:
Book Depository* | Wordery*
Goodreads

I was sent this review copy for free by Tor for the purposes of providing an honest review.

Rep: A lot of side characters are gay, lesbian, or bi/pan, but no labels are given.

Continue reading Review: Magic for Liars by Sarah Gailey

Friday, 10 January 2020

, , , , ,

My Spiritual, Magical and Self-Care Goals for 2020

A photo of a foam and glitter 2020 in silver and gold on a dark brown wooden surface, with gold and silver foam and glitter stars surrounding them.

Photo by Jamie Street on Unsplash.

My Spiritual, Magical and Self-Care Goals for 2020


It's 2020 at last, and we're all starting to make plans or goals for the year ahead, and maybe even resolutions. I've made myself a few goals relating to my spirituality, magic and self-care for the year, so I thought I would share them with you.
Continue reading My Spiritual, Magical and Self-Care Goals for 2020

Tuesday, 7 January 2020

, ,

My 2019 The Broke and The Bookish Secret Santa Gifts

TBTBSanta Logo

My  2019The Broke and The Bookish Secret Santa Gifts


This past Christmas I took part in The Broke and the Bookish's Secret Santa, hosted in 2019 by Jana of That Artsy Reader Girl on her own. It's a Secret Santa where you sign up for a certain tier (1 book and a small gift, 1-2 books and a couple of small gifts/goodies, 2+ books and small gifts/goodies), you're paired up with someone in the same tier, and you send your Santee presents! I signed up for the last year, and received a box full of lovely things from Hannah of Hannah's Bookshelf! I thought I'd share with you all the wonderful gifts she sent me. (All photos can be clicked on to enlarge.)
Continue reading My 2019 The Broke and The Bookish Secret Santa Gifts

Monday, 6 January 2020

, , , , , , , ,

Review: Impossible Causes by Julie Mayhew

Impossible Causes by Julie Mayhew

This post contains Ad: Affiliate Links - marked with an asterisk (*) - which means if you make a purchase through them, I'll receive a small commission at no extra cost to you.

Impossible Causes by Julie Mayhew

Published: 17th October 2019 | Publisher: Raven Books | Source: Won in a giveaway.
Julie Mayhew's Website

For readers of All the Missing Girls and You Will Know Me, Impossible Causes is a gripping thriller about isolation, power, and the lies that fester when witnesses stay silent.

For six months every year, Lark Island is fogged in, its occupants cut off completely from the mainland. The community is small, tight-knit, and deeply religious. Lark seems like a good place for 16-year-old Viola Kendrick and her mother to be alone as they mourn Viola’s father and brother, both killed in a tragic accident.

But the islanders are hiding dark secrets. As the winter fog sets in, Viola gets to know the Eldest Girls—the only three teenagers on Lark—and begins to learn about the island’s twisted history, including an old story of a young girl, whose death the islanders insist was accidental. When a man’s body is found at the end of Viola’s first winter on Lark, Viola finds herself at the center of a murder mystery: one that asks whether the man’s death was a righteous act of revenge, or a cold-blooded killing.

Eerie and menacing, timely and moving, Impossible Causes is an unputdownable thriller that examines the consequences of secrets kept at young women’s expense.
From Goodreads.

Ad: Affiliate links:
Book Depository* | Wordery*
Goodreads

I won this proof in a Twitter giveaway held by the publisher. What I have written is an honest review.

Rep: Two lesbian side characters.

Continue reading Review: Impossible Causes by Julie Mayhew

Friday, 3 January 2020

, ,

My Most Anticipated Retellings From Jan - June 2020

A photo of a castle at the end of a bridge, taken from the other end of the bridge, with a forest in the background in shroudedin a faint mist.

Photo by Sandra Ahn Mode on Unsplash.

My Most Anticipated Retellings From Jan - June 2020


Titles marked with a (^) are ad: affiliate links, which means if you make a purchase through them, I'll receive a small commission at no extra cost to you.

Titles marked with an asterisk (*) were gifted to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

It's now 2020, it's a brand New Year! And you know what that means? A year chock full of brand new books is ahead of us! And as regular readers will know, what I am most looking forward to is all the retellings! I do adore a good retelling! So here are the retellings I'm most anticipating in the first half of this year!
Continue reading My Most Anticipated Retellings From Jan - June 2020