Monday, 8 August 2022

, , , , , , ,

Review: The Book of Gothel by Mary McMyne (#Ad)

The Book of Gothel by Mary McMyne held up by a white hand in front of rainbow shelves.

I was sent this proof for free by Orbit Books for the purposes of providing an honest review.

Links with an asterisk (*) are Ad: Affiliate Links, which means if you make a purchase through them, I'll make a small commission at no extra cost to you.

The Book of Gothel by Mary McMyne


Published: 28th July 2022 | Publisher: Orbit Books | Source: Publisher
Mary McMyne’s Website

Everyone knows the story of Rapunzel in the tower, but do you know the tale of the witch who put her there?

Enter a world of dark magic, mysterious woods and evil princes. This is the truth they never wanted you to know, as only a witch might tell it.

With her strange black eyes and even stranger fainting spells, Haelewise is shunned by her village, and her only solace lies in the stories her mother tells of child-stealing witches, of princes in wolf-skins, of an ancient tower cloaked in mist where women will find shelter if they are brave enough to seek it.

But when her mother dies, Haelewise is left unmoored. With nothing left for her in her village, she sets out to find the tower of legend-a place called Gothel, where Haelewise meets a wise woman willing to take her under her wing.

But Haelewise is not the only woman to seek refuge at Gothel. It's also a haven for a girl named Rika, who carries with her a secret the Church strives to keep hidden. A secret that reveals a dark world of ancient spells and murderous nobles behind the world Haelewise has always known.

The Book of Gothel is a lush, enchanting retelling of the tale of Rapunzel from the witch's perspective, perfect for fans of Circe and The Bear and the Nightingale.
From The StoryGraph.

Purchase from Bookshop.org*
The StoryGraph | Goodreads


Continue reading Review: The Book of Gothel by Mary McMyne (#Ad)

Monday, 1 August 2022

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Review: Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas

Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas held up by a white hand in front of rainbow shelves.

Links with an asterisk (*) are Ad: Affiliate Links, which means if you make a purchase through them, I'll make a small commission at no extra cost to you.

Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas


Published: 4th August | Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books | Source: Bought
Aiden Thomas’ Website

Yadriel has summoned a ghost, and now he can’t get rid of him.

When his traditional Latinx family has problems accepting his gender, Yadriel becomes determined to prove himself a real brujo. With the help of his cousin and best friend Maritza, he performs the ritual himself, and then sets out to find the ghost of his murdered cousin and set it free.

However, the ghost he summons is actually Julian Diaz, the school’s resident bad boy, and Julian is not about to go quietly into death. He’s determined to find out what happened and tie up some loose ends before he leaves. Left with no choice, Yadriel agrees to help Julian, so that they can both get what they want. But the longer Yadriel spends with Julian, the less he wants to let him leave.
From The StoryGraph.

Purchase from Bookshop.org*
The StoryGraph | Goodreads


Continue reading Review: Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas

Saturday, 30 July 2022

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Review: The Falling In Love Montage by Ciara Smyth

The Falling In Love Montage by Ciara Smyth held up by a white hand in front of rainbow shelves.

Links with an asterisk (*) are Ad: Affiliate Links, which means if you make a purchase through them, I'll make a small commission at no extra cost to you.

The Falling In Love Montage by Ciara Smyth


Published: 4th June 2020 | Publisher: Andersen Press | Source: Bought
Ciara Smyth’s Website

Two girls embark on a summer of montage-worthy dates (with a few strings attached) in this hilarious and heartfelt lesbian rom-com that’s perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han.

Seventeen-year-old cynic Saoirse Clarke isn’t looking for a relationship. But when she meets mischievous Ruby, that rule goes right out the window. Sort of.

Because Ruby has a loophole in mind: a summer of all the best cliché movie montage dates, with a definite ending come fall—no broken hearts, no messy breakup. It would be the perfect plan, if they weren’t forgetting one thing about the Falling in Love Montage: when it’s over, the characters have fallen in love...for real.

Ciara Smyth’s debut is a delightful, multilayered YA rom-com that will make you laugh, cry, and absolutely fall in love.
From The StoryGraph.

Purchase from Bookshop.org*
The StoryGraph | Goodreads


Continue reading Review: The Falling In Love Montage by Ciara Smyth

Monday, 25 July 2022

, , , , , , , , ,

Review: The Society for Soulless Girls by Laura Steven

The Society for Soulless Girls by Laura Steven held up by a white hand in front of rainbow shelves.

Links with an asterisk (*) are Ad: Affiliate Links, which means if you make a purchase through them, I'll make a small commission at no extra cost to you.

The Society for Soulless Girls by Laura Steven


Published: 7th July 2022 | Publisher: Electric Monkey | Source: Bought
Laura Steven’s Website

A dark and funny YA thriller with a supernatural twist. From the winner of the Comedy Women in Print Prize.

Ten years ago, four students lost their lives in the infamous North Tower murders at the elite Carvell College of Arts, forcing Carvell to close its doors.

Now Carvell is reopening, and fearless student Lottie is determined to find out what really happened. But when her roommate, Alice, stumbles upon a sinister soul-splitting ritual hidden in Carvell’s haunted library, the North Tower claims another victim.

Can Lottie uncover the truth before the North Tower strikes again? Can Alice reverse the ritual before her monstrous alter ego consumes her? And can they stop flirting for literally fifteen seconds in order to do this?

Exploring possession and ambition, lust and bloodlust, femininity and violence, The Society of Soulless Girls is perfect for fans of Ace of Spaces, The Secret History and The Inheritance Games.
From The StoryGraph.

Purchase from Bookshop.org*
The StoryGraph | Goodreads


Continue reading Review: The Society for Soulless Girls by Laura Steven

Saturday, 23 July 2022

, , , , , , , , , ,

Review: Even If We Break by Marieke Nijkamp

Even If We Break by Marieke Nijkamp held up by a white hand in front of rainbow shelves.

Links with an asterisk (*) are Ad: Affiliate Links, which means if you make a purchase through them, I'll make a small commission at no extra cost to you.

Even If We Break by Marieke Nijkamp


Published: 15th September 2020 | Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire | Source: Won in a giveaway
Marieke Nijkamp’s Website

FIVE friends go to a cabin.
FOUR of them are hiding secrets.
THREE years of history bind them.
TWO are doomed from the start.
ONE person wants to end this.
NO ONE IS SAFE.

For five friends, this was supposed to be one last getaway before going their separate ways―a chance to say goodbye to each other, and to the game they’ve been playing for the past three years. But they’re all dealing with their own demons, and they’re all hiding secrets.

Finn doesn’t trust anyone since he was attacked a few months ago. Popular girl Liva saw it happen and did nothing to stop it. Maddy was in an accident that destroyed her sports career. Carter is drowning under the weight of his family’s expectations. Ever wants to keep the game going for as long as they can, at all costs.

When the lines between game and reality start to blend with deadly consequences, it’s a race against time before it’s game over―forever.

Are you ready to play?
From The StoryGraph.

Purchase from Bookshop.org*
The StoryGraph | Goodreads


Continue reading Review: Even If We Break by Marieke Nijkamp

Wednesday, 20 July 2022

, , ,

My Most Anticipated LGBTQ+ Fantasy & Horror Releases of July - December 2022

A purple blog graphic reading the words My Most Anticipated LGBTQ+ Fantasy & Horror Releases of July - December 2022 in black, surrounded by illustrations of open and closed books in various shades of purple.

Ad: Titles with an asterisk (*) were provided to me for free by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Links with a circumflex (^) are Ad: Affiliate Links, which means if you make a purchase through them, I'll make a small commission at no extra cost to you.

My Most Anticipated LGBTQ+ Fantasy & Horror of July - December 2022



It is July! We're over half way through the year already! How?! But it means it's time to share my most anticipated LGBTQ+ fantasy and horror, and fantasy and horror by LGBTQ+ authors coming out in the second half of the year. I know, I know, we're already 20 days into July, and this is quite late, but it's been a busy few weeks. 

A quick note: this list isn't exhaustive. I'm sharling those I'm excited for, not everything that's coming out. There also might be some titles I'm not yet aware of. Also, I'm in the UK; while most of these books are US books and so will include the US release, the others are for when they're published/become available in the UK. On to the books!
Continue reading My Most Anticipated LGBTQ+ Fantasy & Horror Releases of July - December 2022

Monday, 18 July 2022

, , ,

Review: Our Crooked Hearts by Melissa Albert (#Ad)

A proof of Our Crooked Hearts by Melissa Albert open flat on a white sheet. Surrounding the book, from top left in a clockwise direction, are a raw rose quartz chunk, a red candle, a small gold bowl of cascarilla, a small corked jar with three sharks teeth inside, a light grey mortar and pestle with dried heather inside, asmall circular mirror, and an open small glass jar of apple seeds, with apple seeds scattered on the sheet from the opening, up along the left side of the book.

I was sent this proof for free by Penguin via Nina Douglas PR for the purposes of providing an honest review.

Links with an asterisk (*) are Ad: Affiliate Links, which means if you make a purchase through them, I'll make a small commission at no extra cost to you.

Our Crooked Hearts by Melissa Albert


Published: 30th June 2022 | Publisher: Penguin | Source: Publisher
Melissa Albert on Twitter

SECRETS. LIES. SUPER-BAD CHOICES. WITCHCRAFT. This is Our Crooked Hearts - a gripping mystery crossed with a pitch-dark fantasy from Melissa Albert, global bestselling author of The Hazel Wood.

In our family, we keep our magic close, but our secrets closer...

Ivy's summer starts with a series of disturbing events - unnatural offerings appear on her doorstep and she's haunted by fragmented memories from her childhood. Soon she grapples with a dark secret that she's always known - but never faced - that there is more to her mother Dana than meets the eye...

Dana's story starts the summer she turns sixteen, when with the help of her best friend and an ambitious older girl, she embarks on a major fling with the supernatural. As the trio's aspirations darken, things soon take a more sinister turn.

Years after it began, Ivy and Dana's shared story will come down to a reckoning among a mother, a daughter and the dark forces they never should've messed with.
From The StoryGraph.

Purchase from Bookshop.org*
The StoryGraph | Goodreads


Continue reading Review: Our Crooked Hearts by Melissa Albert (#Ad)