Friday, 28 July 2017

Review: Guardians of the West by David Eddings

Guardians of the West by David EddingsGuardians of the West by David Eddings (Borrowed) - WARNING! I cannot review this book without spoiling the previous series, the Belgariad. Read no further if you're planning on reading the Belgariad and don't want it spoilt for you.

Warned by the prophecy that a new and greater danger threatens the lands of the west, Garion, Belgarath and Polgara must begin another quest to save the lands from great evil.

Three years have passed since Garion's killing of the evil god Torak and his marriage to Ce'Nedra. He is now Overlord of the West, slowly learning how to cope with the duties of a king and to overcome the difficulties within his marriage.

When the Orb of Aldur warns Garion to 'Beware Zandramas!' the Voice of Prophecy reveals that somewhere in the unknown land of the East the Dark Prophecy still exists and that great new dangers threaten.

While Belgarath and Garion seek to uncover the nature of this threat, Garion's baby son is kidnapped. All evidence points to the loathsome Bear-cult, which has gained power once more, and Garion leads an army bent on its destruction. But there are even more sinister forces at work, and Garion and his followers must look towards the malign and mysterious evil of Zandramas. Their quest must begin again.
From Goodreads.

Tuesday, 25 July 2017

Review: T is for Tree by Greg Fowler

T is for Tree by Greg FowlerT is for Tree by Greg Fowler (proof) - Eddy knows he’s not like other teenagers. He doesn’t look like them. He doesn’t think like them. He doesn’t go to school or have friends like they do. Eddy’s not even allowed to leave his bedroom – except on shower day of course. He doesn’t know why; all Eddy knows is that he’s different.

Abandoned by his mother and kept locked away by his grandmother, Eddy must spend his life watching the world go by from his bedroom window. Until Reagan Crowe moves in next door and everything starts to change. She’s kind, funny, beautiful, and most importantly, she’s Eddy’s first friend. Over time, Reagan introduces Eddy to the strange and wonderful world outside his bedroom: maths, jam, love.

But growing up isn’t that simple for either of them. And Eddy has a secret. The tree that’s slowly creeping in through his window from the garden is no ordinary tree. But then again, Eddy’s no ordinary boy. He’s special...

Set over the course of five years, T is for Tree is moving, life-affirming, and shows that we can all find greatness in the small things.
From Goodreads.

Trigger Warning: Ableism.

Before I start this review, I must warn you that it will be full of spoilers. This is because I feel this is an incredibly problematic and harmful book, and I need to explain my reasons why.

Thursday, 20 July 2017

Review: When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya MenonNetGalleyWhen Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon (eProof) - The arranged-marriage YA romcom you didn't know you wanted or needed...

Meet Dimple.

Her main aim in life is to escape her traditional parents, get to university and begin her plan for tech world domination.

Meet Rishi.

He's rich, good-looking and a hopeless romantic. His parents think Dimple is the perfect match for him, but she's got other plans...

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

Perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jenny Han and Nicola Yoon, WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI is a frothy, funny contemporary romance set at a coding convention in San Francisco over one exciting summer. Told from the dual perspectives of two Indian American protagonists, Dimple is fighting her family traditions while Rishi couldn't be happier to follow in the footsteps of his parents. Could sparks fly between this odd couple, or is this matchmaking attempt doomed to fail?
From Goodreads.

Sunday, 16 July 2017

Review: The Disappearances by Emily Bain Murphy

The Disappearances by Emily Bain Murphy US cover The Disappearances by Emily Bain Murphy UK cover

NetGalleyThe Disappearances by Emily Bain Murphy (eProof/review copy)* - Every seven years something goes missing in the remote town of Sterling: people's reflections, the stars in the sky, the ability to dream. Aila realises that her mother may be to blame for the curse. But some mysteries are buried very deep and some secrets want to stay hidden - and one young woman's desire to uncover the truth may not be enough to save Sterling from the past.

A beautifully told story of love, loss and finding the truth - no matter how difficult that might be.
From Goodreads.

Trigger warning: This book features a suicide attempt.

Friday, 14 July 2017

Review: Our Dark Duet by V. E. Scwhab

Our Dark Duet by V. E. ScwhabOur Dark Duet by V. E. Scwhab (Bought) - WARNING! I cannot review this book without spoiling the others in the series. Read no further if you're planning on reading this series and don't want it spoilt for you.

Kate Harker is a girl who isn’t afraid of the dark. She’s a girl who hunts monsters. And she’s good at it. August Flynn is a monster who can never be human, no matter how much he once yearned for it. He’s a monster with a part to play. And he will play it, no matter the cost.

Nearly six months after Kate and August were first thrown together, the war between the monsters and the humans is terrifying reality. In Verity, August has become the leader he never wished to be, and in Prosperity, Kate has become the ruthless hunter she knew she could be. When a new monster emerges from the shadows—one who feeds on chaos and brings out its victim’s inner demons—it lures Kate home, where she finds more than she bargained for. She’ll face a monster she thought she killed, a boy she thought she knew, and a demon all her own.
From Goodreads.

Tuesday, 11 July 2017

The Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag

The Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag

Today, I'm taking part in The Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag - which Cait of Paper Fury has kindly allowed her readers to steal from her. So, onwards, yes?

THE BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR SO FAR


Assassin's Fate by Robin Hobb

This is going to have to be Assassin's Fate by Robin Hobb. It's the final book in the Fitz and the Fool trilogy, but it's also the finale to a story that spanned 16 books - four trilogies and a quartet. This story has been with me since I was a teenager, and not only did it answer all left over questions, but it ended in  a wonderful, satisfying ending. And though I know I'll always re-read these books, I'm going to miss these characters and this world, and going off on new adventures with Fitz and the Fool. This book will definitely stay with me for a very long time.

Saturday, 8 July 2017

Review: This Savage Song by V. E. Schwab

This Savage Song by V. E. SchwabThis Savage Song by V. E. Schwab (Bought) - Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs of a divided city, a grisly metropolis where violence has begun to create real and deadly monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the inhabitants pay for his protection. August just wants to be human, as good-hearted as his own father - but his curse is to be what the humans fear. The thin truce that keeps the Harker and Flynn families at peace is crumbling, and an assassination attempt forces Kate and August into a tenuous alliance. But how long will they survive in a city where no one is safe and monsters are real... From the blurb.