Sunday 6 August 2017

, , , , , ,

Review: Sorceress of Darshiva by David Eddings

Sorceress of Darshiva by David EddingsSorceress of Darshiva by David Eddings (Borrowed) - WARNING! I cannot review this book without spoiling the others in the series. Read no further if you're planning on reading this series and don't want it spoilt for you.

In this fourth book of The Malloreon, Garion and his companions continue their desperate search for Zandramas, the Child of Dark and abductor of Garion's baby son, Geran. Led by the orb from Mallorea to the island of Melcena, they discover the place where the sardion once rested and also find Senji, a self-taught wizard whose undamaged copy of the Ashabine oracles carries a message for Garion from the evil god Torak.

As Zandramas's intention to fulfil the Dark Destiny becomes clear, Garion and his friends know that they must travel to Kell. There they will discover from the Malloreon Gospels the truth of their ultimate destination, The Place Which Is No More. But the friends are not alone in their search as the prophecies of Cyradis, the Seeress of Kell, begin to be fulfilled.
From Goodreads.

Sorceress of Darshiva by David Eddings continues Garion and his companion's quest to find his son, Geran, heading towards the final meeting between the Child of Light and the hild of Dark. I'm glad to say there are a lot fewer instances of misogyny and sexism in this one, which I'm glad about as the Demon Lord of Karanda really angered me.

In my review of the last book, I mentioned that I was starting to miss the characters that were a part of Garion's first quest in the Belgariad. In this book, however, we get a couple of chapters which show us what is happening in other parts of the world, and get to see what they're up to. They know that they're not allowed to join Garion in his quest, but, through letters given to them from the group from Yarblek (who joined them for a while), they know where they are, and what's happening, and with the Drasnian Intelligence service, they also know that it's possible the Malloreon army may get in their way and and cause major problems in their search. They know that Garion is on a deadline, and must get to the Place Which Is No More at a certain time, and so they plot and scheme ways in which they can help without actually getting involved with Garion, by trying to keep the Malloreon army out of their way. In these chapters, we also get to catch up with King of the Murgos, Urgit, and Zakath, Emperor of Mallorea, two characters we really get to know in this series, and also Zandramas. We get to see moments with her, and what she's thinking, and it's really fascinating to get inside her head for a short while.

However, looking back over the book, it doesn't feel like a huge amount really happens. I don't want to talk about what does happen, because of spoilers, but this book felt like they were just trailing Zandramas a lot of the time, and trying to find and uncut copy of the Ashabine Oracles, though they have no idea where it is or who has it. In previous books, things happened on the way, and although things happen in this book, they are few and far between, and a lot of the major things happen quite close to the end. It's still completely gripping, because you don't know exactly where the story is going to lead as you read it - yes, this is a re-read for me, but as I've mentioned in previous reviews, there are some things I have forgotten, and there are also other things I remember, but can't be sure where in the story they happen, so reading them is still captivating for me - but by the time I got to the end, I felt like not much had really taken place over the whole of the book. Still enough happens in this book that makes it a book you need to read for the story to make sense, it just take a while for it to happen.

I didn't mind much happening so much, though, as I love these characters, and I enjoy getting to spend time with them. But on to the final book, now! And I am excited, because there a number of things that are still yet to happen, so they must happen in this last book! And also because I can't quite remember what happens during the final meeting of the Child of Light and the Child of Dark. So on to Seeress of Kell!

Add to Goodreads

Published: 11th April 2013 (My edition 1992, originally published in 1989)
Publisher: Corgi Books
David Eddings' Website

My other reviews from the series:
Guardians of the West (The Malloreon Book 1)
King of the Murgos (The Malloreon Book 2)
Demon Lord of Karanda (The Malloreon Book 3)

If you enjoyed this post, feel free to follow me on:
Bloglovin' | Twitter | Instagram


Post a Comment