Saturday, 12 June 2021

, , , , , , , , ,

Review: Perfect on Paper by Sophie Gonzales

Perfect on Paper by Sophie Gonzales

Perfect on Paper by Sophie Gonzales


Published: 11th March 2021 | Publisher: Hodder Children's Books | Source: Bought
Sophie Gonzales's Website

In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat meets To All the Boys I've Loved Before: a bisexual girl who gives anonymous love advice to her classmates is hired by the hot guy to help him get his ex back.

Her advice, spot on. Her love life, way off.

Darcy Phillips:
• Can give you the solution to any of your relationship woes―for a fee.
• Uses her power for good. Most of the time.
• Really cannot stand Alexander Brougham.
• Has maybe not the best judgement when it comes to her best friend, Brooke... who is in love with someone else.
• Does not appreciate being blackmailed.

However, when Brougham catches her in the act of collecting letters from locker 89―out of which she’s been running her questionably legal, anonymous relationship advice service―that’s exactly what happens. In exchange for keeping her secret, Darcy begrudgingly agrees to become his personal dating coach―at a generous hourly rate, at least. The goal? To help him win his ex-girlfriend back.

Darcy has a good reason to keep her identity secret. If word gets out that she’s behind the locker, some things she's not proud of will come to light, and there’s a good chance Brooke will never speak to her again.

Okay, so all she has to do is help an entitled, bratty, (annoyingly hot) guy win over a girl who’s already fallen for him once? What could go wrong?
From The StoryGraph


Continue reading Review: Perfect on Paper by Sophie Gonzales

Wednesday, 9 June 2021

, , , , , ,

Review: For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten

For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten

For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten


Published: 1st June 2021 | Publisher: Orbit Books | Source: NetGalley
Hannah Whitten's Website

The first daughter is for the Throne. The second daughter is for the Wolf.

For fans of Uprooted and The Bear and the Nightingale comes a dark, sweeping debut fantasy novel about a young woman who must be sacrificed to the legendary Wolf of the Wood to save her kingdom. But not all legends are true, and the Wolf isn’t the only danger lurking in the Wilderwood.

As the only Second Daughter born in centuries, Red has one purpose-to be sacrificed to the Wolf in the Wood in the hope he’ll return the world’s captured gods.

Red is almost relieved to go. Plagued by a dangerous power she can’t control, at least she knows that in the Wilderwood, she can’t hurt those she loves. Again.

But the legends lie. The Wolf is a man, not a monster. Her magic is a calling, not a curse. And if she doesn’t learn how to use it, the monsters the gods have become will swallow the Wilderwood-and her world-whole.
From The StoryGraph

I received this eProof for free from Orbit Books via NetGalley for the purposes of providing an honest review.


Continue reading Review: For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten

Saturday, 5 June 2021

, , , , , , , , ,

Review: The Blue Eye by Ausma Zehanat Khan

The Blue Eye by Ausma Zehanat Khan

The Blue Eye by Ausma Zehanat Khan


Published: 20th August 2020 | Publisher: HarperVoyager | Source: Bought
Ausma Zehanat Khan's Website

The Companions of Hira have used their cunning and their magic in the battle against the patriarchal Talisman, an organization whose virulently conservative agenda restricts free thought. One of the most accomplished Companions, Arian, continues to lead a disparate group in pursuit of the one artifact that could end the Talisman’s authoritarian rule: The Bloodprint.

But after a vicious battle, the arcane tome has slipped once more beyond her reach. Despite being separated and nearly losing their lives, Arian’s band of allies has remained united. Yet now, the group seems to be fracturing. To continue the fight, Arian must make a dangerous journey to a distant city to recruit new allies. But instead of her trusted friends, she is accompanied by associates she may no longer be able to trust.

Building on the brilliance of The Bloodprint and The Black Khan, this third volume in the Khorasan Archive series ratchets up the danger, taking the conflict to a darker, deadlier place, and setting the stage for the thrilling conclusion to this acclaimed #ownvoices fantasy.
From The StoryGraph

My other reviews of The Khorasan Archives Series:
The Bloodprint | The Black Khan

WARNING! I cannot review this book without spoiling the others in the series. Read no further if you're planning on reading this series and don't want it spoilt for you.


Continue reading Review: The Blue Eye by Ausma Zehanat Khan

Tuesday, 1 June 2021

, , ,

Bisexual YA with F/M Relationships

Bisexual YA with F/M Romances

Bisexual YA with F/M Romances


Titles marked with an asterisk (*) were gifted to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

This post contains Ad: Affiliate Links - marked with an circumflex (^) - which means if you make a purchase through them, I'll receive a small commission at no extra cost to you.

Recently, there was some controversy on YA Book Twitter when, after Sophie Gonzales discussed Perfect on Paper and it's f/m relationship, the book was criticised for being labelled as an LGBTQ* because the main character, Darcy - who is bisexual - ends up in a relationship with a guy. A lot of biphobia and acephobia ensued, with implications that unless a character was having sex with someone of the same gender, it wasn't queer enough (see threaded tweet, too), started by an author who writes queer erotica.

This made me incredibly angry. Bisexual people exist, and they're still bisexual even if they're in a f/m relationship. They're relationship isn't a straight relationship, because they are not straight. What's funny is that this whole controversy came about because Gonzales explained that her book was about... biphobia and bi-erasure. Many people have already said a lot on this topic a lot more eloquently than I can. So instead, I'm going to share with you a list of books featuring bisexual characters in f/m relationships. Not all of the books are romances, or have the romance as the main focus, but they feature on page f/m relationships. And, of course, I'm starting with Perfect on Paper itself.
Continue reading Bisexual YA with F/M Relationships

Wednesday, 12 May 2021

Saturday, 8 May 2021

, , , , , , , , ,

Review: The Candle and the Flame by Nafiza Azad

The Candle and the Flame by Nafiza Azad

The Candle and the Flame by Nafiza Azad


Published: 14th May 2019 | Publisher: Scholastic | Source: Won
Nafiza Azad's Website

Azad's debut YA fantasy is set in a city along the Silk Road that is a refuge for those of all faiths, where a young woman is threatened by the war between two clans of powerful djinn.

Fatima lives in the city of Noor, a thriving stop along the Silk Road. There the music of myriad languages fills the air, and people of all faiths weave their lives together. However, the city bears scars of its recent past, when the chaotic tribe of Shayateen djinn slaughtered its entire population -- except for Fatima and two other humans. Now ruled by a new maharajah, Noor is protected from the Shayateen by the Ifrit, djinn of order and reason, and by their commander, Zulfikar.

But when one of the most potent of the Ifrit dies, Fatima is changed in ways she cannot fathom, ways that scare even those who love her. Oud in hand, Fatima is drawn into the intrigues of the maharajah and his sister, the affairs of Zulfikar and the djinn, and the dangers of a magical battlefield.

In this William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist novel, Nafiza Azad weaves an immersive tale of magic and the importance of names; fiercely independent women; and, perhaps most importantly, the work for harmony within a city of a thousand cultures and cadences.
From The StoryGraph


Continue reading Review: The Candle and the Flame by Nafiza Azad

Wednesday, 5 May 2021

, , , , , , , , ,

Review: The Black Khan by Ausma Zehanat Khan

The Black Khan by Ausma Zehanat Khan

The Black Khan by Ausma Zehanat Khan


Published: 11th July 2019 | Publisher: HarperVoyager | Source: Bought
Ausma Zehanat Khan's Website

To fight against the cruel and superstitious patriarchy known as the Talisman, members of the resistance group known as the Companions of Hira have risked their lives in a failed attempt to procure the Bloodprint--a dangerous text that may hold the secret to overthrowing the terrifying regime. Now, with their plans in ashes, the Companions of Hira have scattered, and the lives of two brave women at the center of the plot--Arian and Sinnia--face unprecedented danger.

Yet a spark of hope flickers in the darkness--the Bloodprint has survived. It is hidden in Ashfall, the seat of Rukh, the Black Khan, whose court is ruled by intrigue and conspiracy. Treacherous enemies ruthlessly maneuver for power behind the throne, including the autocratic Grand Vizier; the deadly and secretive Assassin; the Khan's deposed half-brother; and the commander of Ashfall's army, who is also Rukh's oldest friend.

The Companions of Hira must somehow reunite, break through Talisman lines, and infiltrate Ashfall. A master of treachery himself, the Black Khan joins forces with these powerful women to manipulate them for his own ends. But as Ashfall comes under siege, he is forced to make a deadly calculation... one that could cause irrevocable damage to the Companions and their fight for freedom.
From The StoryGraph

My other reviews of The Khorasan Archives Series:
The Bloodprint

WARNING! I cannot review this book without spoiling the others in the series. Read no further if you're planning on reading this series and don't want it spoilt for you.


Continue reading Review: The Black Khan by Ausma Zehanat Khan