Thursday 22 April 2010


Last Chance to Vote in Children's Choice Book Awards!

Some news for American children from Goodman Media - get them voting before it's too late!


Voting Ends on Monday, May 3

James Patterson, Jeff Kinney, Suzanne Collins, Rick Riordan and Carl Hiaasen Battle It Out for Author of the Year

Did your kids vote yet for their favorite author and books? This is their last chance to vote for the Children’s Choice Book Awards! To cast a vote, visit Voting ends on May 3rd, 2010.

The Children’s Choice Book Awards program, launched in 2008 by The Children’s Book Council (CBC) in association with Every Child a Reader, Inc. (the CBC Foundation), was created to provide young readers with an opportunity to voice their opinions about the books being written for them and to help develop a reading list that will motivate children to read more and cultivate a love of reading.

This year’s Children’s Choice Book Award finalists are as follows:

Author of the Year
Suzanne Collins for Catching Fire (The Second Book of the Hunger Games) (Scholastic Press) Carl Hiaasen for Scat (Knopf/Random House)
Jeff Kinney for Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Last Straw and Dog Days (Amulet Books/Abrams)
James Patterson for Max (A Maximum Ride Novel) (Little, Brown)
Rick Riordan for The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson & the Olympians, Book 5) (Disney Hyperion)

Illustrator of the Year
Peter Brown for The Curious Garden (Little, Brown)
Robin Preiss Glasser for Fancy Nancy: Explorer Extraordinaire! (HarperCollins)
Victoria Kann for Goldilicious (HarperCollins)
Susan L. Roth for Listen to the Wind (Dial/Penguin)
David Soman for Ladybug Girl and Bumblebee Boy (Dial/Penguin)

Kindergarten to Second Grade Book of the Year
The Birthday Pet by Ellen Javernick, illustrated by Kevin O'Malley (Marshall Cavendish)
Lulu the Big Little Chick by Paulette Bogan (Bloomsbury USA)
Mouse Was Mad by Linda Urban, illustrated by Henry Cole (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
The Odd Egg by Emily Gravett (Simon & Schuster)
Opposnakes by Salina Yoon (Little Simon/Simon & Schuster)

Third Grade to Fourth Grade Book of the Year
The Book That Eats People by John Perry, illustrated by Mark Fearing (Tricycle Press)
Coretta Scott by Ntozake Shange, illustrated by Kadir Nelson (Katherine Tegen/HarperCollins)
Gonzalo Grabs the Good Life by Janice Levy, illustrated by Bill Slavin (Eerdmans)
Lunch Lady and the Cyborg Substitute by Jarrett J. Krosoczka (Knopf/Random House)
Oceanology by Ferdinand Zoticus deLessups (Candlewick)

Fifth Grade to Sixth Grade Book of the Year
The Adventures of Benny by Steve Shreve (Marshall Cavendish)
Dork Diaries: Tales from a Not-So-Fabulous Life by Rachel Renee Russell (Aladdin/Simon & Schuster)
Moonshot by Brian Floca (Atheneum/Richard Jackson/Simon & Schuster)
Outlaw: The Legend of Robin Hood by Tony Lee, Sam Hart, and Artur Fujita (Candlewick) Zoobreak by Gordon Korman (Scholastic Press)

Teen Choice Book of the Year
Blood Promise (Vampire Academy, Book 4) by Richelle Mead (Razorbill/Penguin)
Blue Moon (The Immortals, Book 2) by Alyson Noel (St. Martin’s Griffin/Macmillan)
Catching Fire (The Second Book of the Hunger Games) by Suzanne Collins (Scholastic Press)
City of Glass (The Mortal Instruments, Book 3) by Cassandra Clare (McElderry/Simon & Schuster)
Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater (Scholastic Press)

The Children’s Choice Book Awards winners will be announced live at the Children’s Choice Book Awards gala on May 11 in New York City as part of Children’s Book Week, the oldest national literacy event in the United States.


Post a Comment