Monday, 23 July 2012

Weekly Gossip

Here's your weekly news from the past week!

First up, the UK cover for Fury's Kiss by Karen Chance:

Fury's Kiss by Karen Chance

What do you think? I love it! Oooh, I can't wait to read it, I am so excited!


Now the UK trailer for Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry.

How amazing does this book look? I am so excited to read it!


Elen's Awesome AdventuresElen Caldecott writes great contemporary adventure stories for 8 – 12 year olds that tap into issues faced by modern children. In her new book, The Mystery of Wickworth Manor she delivers an exciting tale with lots of humour and action, which also explores the history of the slave trade.

As a thank you to Elen’s fans, Bloomsbury is running a brilliant new competition called Elen’s Awesome Adventures. Get creative this summer to be in with a chance of winning signed books and an iPod Touch among other things.

For more information about Elen and her books visit:


Facebook: ElenCaldecottChildren'sAuthor

Twitter: @ElenCaldecott


Some news from Atom!

School's out for summer!

With lots of lovely holiday just around the corner, it's time to think about what you'll be reading over the next six weeks.

Luckily help is at hand in the form of our Atom Summer Reads Sampler. We've put together six awesome extracts from our favourite reads so far in 2012 which you can download here FOR FREE.

Not only can you download six awesome Atom extracts for free, we're offering one lucky reader the chance to win a set of all six books.

Go over to the dork side with Adorkable, Queen of Teen Sarra Manning’s awesome new novel on blogging, snogging and everything in between. Fall in love with beautiful ballet story Bunheads. Uncover centuries of secrets in The Book of Blood and Shadow, or escape to the moon with Johan Harstad’s chilling teen tale . . . if you dare.

Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games, Veronica Rossi’s Under The Never Sky is a mesmerizing masterpiece, while the darkly thrilling Night School will keep you up well past your bedtime.

To make all of the awesome titles above yours, click here to enter our competition.

In other news . . .

If you loved Prophecy of the Sisters, don't miss Michelle Zink's brand new prequel trilogy published this summer.

Whisper of Souls, Mistress of Souls and Rise of Souls are available now, exclusively in ebook for just £1.99 each.


Award news from Indigo!

We’ve had an exciting year for awards at Orion already, with Annabel Pitcher leading the charge and receiving a stunning 24 separate awards nominations for MY SISTER LIVES ON THE MANTELPIECE, which were crowned at the beginning of July, by her winning a Hull Book Award, a Society of Authors Betty Trask Award and the Branford Boase Award with her editor Fiona Kennedy. You can read all about the awards at the Branford Boase Award site and at Society of Authors.
Annabel was featured last Thursday in the new Books for Keeps, where she wishes she’d written HOW I LIVE NOW by Meg Rosoff.

Check out Fierce Fiction on Facebook for albums of photos from the Branford Boase Award (Annabel Pitcher) and the Queen of Teen ceremony (James Dawson) and after party event at wonderful Waterstones Guildford!

Sara Grant has been nominated for the first Anobii Book Award: this takes place at the 2012 Edinburgh International Literary Festival. You can see a lovely pinterest board of the covers of all the shortlisted books here.


News from HarperCollins Children's Books:

HarperCollins signs three more books from Department 19 author Will Hill

HarperCollins is delighted to be continuing its relationship with YA author Will Hill by acquiring three new titles. Fiction Editorial Director Nick Lake secured UK & Commonwealth rights to two final books in the Department 19 series, plus one untitled YA novel. The deal was concluded by Nick and Charlie Campbell at Ed Victor Ltd.

First launched by HarperCollins in 2011, Department 19 was the number one bestselling YA hardback debut of the year and the series has acquired more than 7,000 fans on Facebook. The books have also enjoyed sales success as ebooks, with Department 19: The Rising becoming HarperCollins' bestselling children's ebook launch in April. Hill’s writing has also been acclaimed in the press. "High action, fast plot, original and gripping, this is vampire writing without the sparkle – but with lots of blood!" said the Sun, while the Telegraph pronounced that, “Bram Stoker can stop turning in his grave: his 21st-century legacy extends beyond Twilight.”


News of a Foyles Event:

Curtis Brown searches for new literary talent at Foyles Discovery Day
22 September 2012

Foyles, National Bookseller of the Year and Children’s Bookseller of the Year, are to partner with Curtis Brown literary and talent agency to host a ‘Discovery Day’. On Saturday 22 September 2012, Curtis Brown book agents will give aspiring new novelists the chance to pitch their book ideas directly to them for free at Foyles, Charing Cross Road.

The Discovery Day at Foyles marks a rare occasion, with an entire department of Curtis Brown book agents striding out together in search of new literary talent. In an afternoon of one-to-one sessions, they will hear verbal pitches from new novelists and respond to their first pages. They will also offer a ‘surgery’, answering general questions about writing, agenting and publishing. Following this, Jonny Geller, Curtis Brown’s joint CEO and Literary Agent of the Year, will join Sam Humphreys, Publisher at Michael Joseph and acclaimed author Hari Kunzru for a panel event exploring the journey of the book, from pen to publication.

For more information, visit the event page.

No comments:

Post a Comment