Wednesday 30 December 2009

, , , , ,

Review: Destined for an Early Grave by Jeaniene Frost

Destined for an Early Grave by Jeaniene FrostDestined for an Early Grave by Jeaniene Frost – WARNING! This is the fourth book in the Night Huntress series; I can’t talk about this book without spoiling things from the previous novels. Don’t read any further if you plan on reading the other books.

After their recent war with rogue vampires, Cat thinks a little rest and relaxation are in their future. But she's plagued by dreams of a Master vampire who claims to be from her past. As the dreams intensify and the shadowy figure in them proves to be more than a figment of her subconscious, she realizes there are parts of her past that have been hidden. To unlock these memories and deal with a growing danger to herself and Bones, Cat may have to venture all the way into the grave. But finding out the truth could rock what she knows about herself - and her relationship with Bones. From Amazon UK

I am a huge fan of the Night Huntress series, but after reading At Grave’s End, the previous book in the series, which was just unbelievably good, and seeing the trailer for Destined for an Early Grave, I wasn’t too sure if this novel would match up. The story idea seemed a little off to me; after everything that’s happened to Cat, suddenly some vampire guy from a past she doesn’t remember starts trying to say that she’s married to him? It just didn’t sound like it fitted in with the other books, or that it should have been before At Grave’s End. However, being a huge fan of Jeaniene Frost, of course I was dying to read it despite my misgivings. You would have thought I’d have learnt by now that if a book gives me the slightest inkling of doubt, I’m going to love it. It’s happened so many times, and has happened yet again with Destined for an Early Grave.

I cannot tell you how much I loved this book! In my review for At Grave’s End, I mentioned that Cat was at her strongest. Considering the events of that book, and how everyone dealt with it all, what happened in this, well, I never saw it coming. Cat and Bones’ relationship is strained to its limits, Cat takes some drastic steps, and a lot more people are put at risk – and I loved every second of it!

With each novel Jeaniene writes, there is more and more of an emotional rollercoaster! We have the same characters we’ve come to know and love, and we get even more involved in their lives, and their emotional dramas are just as heart wrenching as the action is an adrenalin rush. I can’t really go into detail about how or why it’s emotional without spoiling the book, but there are several events when my heart just falls for Cat, and I really feel for her because of the things she goes through.

Then we have the action. I am always amazed at how brilliantly Jeaniene choreographs her fight scenes. As I have mentioned before, I have a very visual imagination, so every book I read is like watching a movie, but sometimes fight scenes can get a little confusing for me to see. This is not a problem with these books; I see every punch, every kick, every slash, every bite, and every stab. It’s exciting, but it’s also scary; you’re worried about the people who are fighting and how they could possibly get out of what’s happening alive. And finally, being fight scenes, they’re quite violent and gory; at one point towards the end, I was so nervous for the characters, and it got quite a bit gory that I had to put the book down and get a drink as it made me feel a bit sick. All of this shows just how awesome a writer Jeaniene is!

I could go on about how amazing this book is, but I would be spoiling a lot of the book. This book is just amazing, and I really can’t wait for the next in the series. Luckily enough, to tide me over until the next Night Huntress series book, First Drop of Crimson, the first book in Jeaniene Frost’s Night Huntress World series, is due out 9th February, and I can’t wait to read it! I’d highly recommend this novel, and if you haven’t read any of the books in the Night Huntress series yet, I would go get Halfway to the Grave ASAP if I were you! Don’t miss out any longer!

Add to Goodreads

Published: August 2009
Publisher: Avon Books
Jeaniene Frost’s Website

My other reviews from the series:
Halfway to the Grave (Night Huntress Book 1)
One Foot in the Grave (Night Huntress Book 2)
At Grave’s End (Night Huntress Book 3)


Post a Comment