Thursday, 1 June 2017

June's Diverse YA & MG 2017 UK Releases

As you may have seen, I have put together a list of Diverse YA & MG 2017 UK Releases to help readers in the UK find diverse books that are being published over here. To help you further, at the beginning of each month I'll be sharing the books that are being published that month - but do continue to check the list, as I may on occasion miss out a book I'm not aware of until later, and the list will continuously be updated.

Here are the diverse YA & MG books being published in June. (Here are the releases for past months.)

Troublemakers by Catherine BarterTroublemakers by Catherine Barter

Published 1st June from Andersen Press.

Characters:

LGBTQ*: Gay secondary character.

In three years I will be able to vote and I will still have less power than I did at the moment that I saw that email, which was such a tiny thing but look what happened.

Fifteen-year-old Alena never really knew her political activist mother, who died when she was a baby. She has grown up with her older half-brother Danny and his boyfriend Nick in the east end of London. Now the area is threatened by a bomber who has been leaving explosive devices in supermarkets. It is only a matter of time before a bomb goes off.
Against this increasingly fearful backdrop, Alena seeks to discover more about her past, while Danny takes a job working for a controversial politician. As her family life implodes, and the threat to Londoners mounts, Alena starts getting into trouble. Then she does something truly rebellious.

A searing, heartbreaking coming-of-age tale for fans of Lisa Williamson, Jenny Downham and Sarah Crossan.
From Goodreads.

Truth of Dare by Non PrattTruth of Dare by Non Pratt

Published 1st June from Walker Books.

Characters:

POC: British Pakistani. Biracial secondary character; half-Turkish, half-Welsh (though her mother being Welsh is not specified in text).

Disability : Secondary character with neurodisability due to traumatic brain injury.

LGBTQ*: Asexual secondary character.

A powerful and moving novel about bravery from the Guardian's "writer to watch" Non Pratt, perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, John Green and Holly Bourne. How far is too far when it comes to the people you love? Claire Casey hates being the centre of attention. But if it means getting Sef Malik to notice her, it’s a risk she’s happy to take. Sef is prepared to do anything to help his recently disabled brother. But this means putting Claire’s love – and life – on the line. Because when you're willing to risk everything, what is there left to lose? From Goodreads.

Tender Earth by Sita BrahmachariTender Earth by Sita Brahmachari

Published 1st June from Macmillan.

Characters:

POC: Biracial; half-Indian, half-white-English - #OwnVoices.

Immigrants/Refugees: Iraqi refugees (secondary characters).

Cultural/Religious Background: Jewish, Hindu and Christian heritage. Hindu secondary character. Muslim secondary characters. Jewish secondary character.

Author:

POC: Biracial; half-Indian, half-white-English.

Laila Levenson has always been the baby of the family, but now with her older siblings, Mira and Krish, leaving home just as she starts secondary school, everything feels like it's changing... can the reappearance of Nana Josie's Protest Book and the spirit it releases in Laila, her friends and her local community, help her find her own voice and discover what she truly believes in?

A powerful chime rings through Laila's mind, guiding her to walk the footsteps of the past on her way to discover her own future.
From Goodreads.

The Call by Peadar Ó GuilínThe Call by Peadar Ó Guilín (IEYA/Irish YA)

Published 1st June from David Fickling Books.

Characters:

Disability: Disabled due to Polio.

You have three minutes to save your life.

Nessa and her friends attend Boyle College to train for the most dangerous time of their lives – THE CALL.

Without warning, each one of them will wake in a terrifying land, alone and hunted, with a one-in-ten chance of returning alive.

No one believes Nessa can make it, but she’s determined to prove them all wrong. And she will need every ounce of spirit and courage in order to survive...
From Goodreads.

Ginny Moon by Benjamin LudwigGinny Moon by Benjamin Ludwig (Not technically YA, but features teen protag.)

Published 1st June from Story HQ.

Characters:

Neurodiversity: Autistic.

Meet Ginny. She’s fourteen, autistic, and has a heart-breaking secret...

Ginny Moon is trying to make sense of a world that just doesn’t seem to add up...

After years in foster care, Ginny is in her fourth forever family, finally with parents who will love her.

Everyone tells her that she should feel happy, but she has never stopped crafting her Big Secret Plan of Escape.

Because something happened, a long time ago – something that only Ginny knows – and nothing will stop her going back to put it right...

A fiercely poignant and inspirational story a lost girl searching for a place to call home. Ginny Moon will change everyone who spends time with her.
From Goodreads.

All the Things That Could Go Wrong by Stewart FosterAll the Things That Could Go Wrong by Stewart Foster

Published 29th June from Simon & Schuster Children's Books.

Characters:

Mental Illness: OCD.

The unforgettable new novel from the award-winning author of THE BUBBLE BOY.

Dan is angry. Nothing has been the same since his big brother left, and he’s taking it out on the nearest and weakest target: Alex.

Alex is struggling. His severe OCD makes it hard for him to leave the house, especially when Dan and his gang are waiting for him at school...

When the two boys’ mums arrange for them to meet out of school and finish building the raft that Dan started with his brother, it seems like the end of the world. But could it be the start of an unlikely friendship?
From Goodreads.

--
If you enjoyed this post, feel free to follow me on:
Bloglovin' | Twitter | Instagram

No comments:

Post a Comment